11 November 2021

Short Film Competition 2021 – Winners Announced

By Performance
Photographer shooting
The Performance Short Film Competition 2021 was a great success! We were thrilled with the turnout and support we received from everyone that joined us and would like to thank everyone that entered the competition.

Now in its fourth year, the competition was bigger and better than ever – we even had the talented Scarlette Douglas join us as our first ever external presenter, which made the event even more special.

Now, without further ado, we are pleased to announce the winning films:

Best ‘Animated’ Short

WINNER ‘The Fisherman’

Directed and Produced by Steve Simmons and Wayne Daniells

Shortlist for the Best Animated Category

Best Horror


Directed and Produced by David Yorke

Shortlist for the Best Horror Category

Best Student

WINNER ‘The Amazing World of Emma’

Directed by Laurence Roberts and Produced by Mark Campbell-Garrity

Shortlist for the Best Student Category

Best ‘Short’ Short

WINNER ‘Downtime’

Directed and Produced by Michaela Moir

Shortlist for the Best ‘Short’ Short Category

Best Documentary

WINNER ‘The Rise of No Signal: Black Radio Here to Stay’

Directed and Produced by Martin Caulfield

Shortlist for the Best Documentary Category

Best Drama

WINNER ‘Mical’

Directed by Yewweng Ho, Produced by Gordon Lewis

Shortlist for the Best Drama Category

Best Comedy


Directed by Lewis Rose, Produced by Chris Hees, Francois Morisset, Laura Jumel

Shortlist for the Best Comedy Category

We would again like to express a huge thank you to everyone who entered this year, those who supported us across social media and those who attended our online awards ceremony.

We would like to give a special thanks to:



Featuristic Films




Reviewed & Cleared

What’s next

We’re planning a couple of spin off events which we’ll be sharing the details of in the next month or so – keep an eye on our socials to keep updated.